Naples Music Club Receives Prestigious "Stars of the Arts" Award from the United Arts Council

UAC President Molly Khorasantchi, left, presents Stars in the Arts award to NMC President Marilyn Bogen

The Naples Music Club received the prestigious 2011 “Stars in the Arts” award from the United Arts Çouncil of Collier County on March 4, 2011, at a celebratory lunch at Naples Grande Resort. The United Arts Council initiated its Stars in the Arts program six years ago to recognize individuals and organizations for leadership in the arts. Nominations are accepted from the public, and this year 53 nominations were received. A selection committee of past winners and leaders in the arts community then rate each nominee.

Other individuals and organizations recognized this year were Kristen Coury, Mark Danni, Donna Fiala, and Opera Naples. Past Stars in the Arts award recipients have been:  Patty and Jay Baker, Myra Daniels, Harriet Heithaus, Erich Kunzel (posthumously), Philharmonic Center for the Arts, Classic Chamber Concerts, Naples Art Association, Art League of Marco Island, Naples Players, Paradise Coastmen Barbershop Chorus, Dolph von Arx, Clyde Butcher, Olga Hirshhorn, Andrea Clark Brown, Delores & John Sorey, Charlie Horn, Paul Arsenault, Bill Meek, Jonathan Green, Mary Margaret Gruszka, Joel Banow, Dr. Ron Bowman, Betsy & Al Harris, Jim Rideoutte, Kathy Spalding, Dr. Ron Doiron, Ted Tobye, Elaine Vreenegoor, Bette Young, Toby Blumenthal & Bert Phillips, Peg Longstreth, and  student Star Kylen Moran.

In her acceptance speech on March 4th, Naples Music Club President  reminded the several hundred guests present that The Naples Music Club had been founded in 1965 at a time when there was little to do in Naples.  Then she said, “Look at Naples now, and look at what the Naples Music Club is doing. The Naples Music Club is all about kids.  It may not be our actual mission statement, but that’s the essence of the way we think.  “All about the kids.”  I want to thank our board of directors and all former directors who, along with our members over the years, other musical organizations and the community, have supported us.  Thank you for this great honor.”