Naples Music Club Presents Winners of its Annual Scholarship Competition in a Recital and Awards Ceremony

Always a popular event appealing to the area’s musical community, the Club’s Annual Winners’ Recital was held this year at the First United Methodist Church of Naples on Sunday, May 2. Following the recital in which sixteen of the winners performed, $22,400 was awarded to 34 talented area musicians ages 11-18. These young musicians had competed successfully in the Club’s annual competition, chaired by Jan Grundeman and Judy Halpin, held April 17. Assisting with the award presentations was the individual who won the Club’s first scholarship at the age of 17 forty years ago, Anita Boqvist Smith, now actively teaching, singing and accompanying in Boca Raton.

The last award made is always the most coveted. It’s the Club’s Turiel Award, given to a student who best meets a number of criteria, including excellence in performance. This year’s winner, Daniel Rosman, an 18-year-old clarinetist and  senior at Estero High School, secured his win, worth $2,000, by wowing the judges with his performance of the Allegro movement from Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto in A Major. Grateful for the award that will launch him on to FSU in the fall, where he will major in music education, he says, “From being the drum major of a state finalist high school marching band and a student teacher in jazz and wind ensembles, I’ve discovered that my passion for music is more than the music itself.” To Rosman, life is also about the people one encounters who touch your life and whose lives you influence. “It is my goal to become a music teacher so I can give back the same (or better) experiences that I have been privileged to enjoy.” He credits his clarinet teacher, Paul Votapek, principal clarinetist with the Naples Philharmonic Orchestra, as being the one person who has influenced him the most. Rosman lists many years of participation, during which he was 1st chair, with the Estero High School Marching Band, Wind Ensemble and Jazz Ensemble, the Naples Philharmonic Youth Orchestra, Tri-State Festival Bands, Florida All State Band, and the Lee County Honor Band. For four years, he has been the 1st place winner in the woodwind division in the Naples Music Club’s Scholarship Competition, and in 2009 he was top winner of the Naples Philharmonic Concerto Competition.  Playing tenor saxophone as well as clarinet, he also has the distinction of receiving his high school’s Top of the Class and Student Choice awards for wind ensemble.  Besides those organizations connected with music, he belongs to the National Honor Society, Knowledge Master Open, Estero High School Academic Team, and Teen Trendsetters. Thinking ahead beyond college Rosman would also consider a short career in the U.S. Marine or Air Force Band, where travel is a side benefit of the music. In his immediate future, Daniel Rosman has received a full scholarship to FSU’s Summer Music Camp’s Honors Chamber Winds Program. Armed with his music, his credentials, his scholarship awards, and his desire to share the music experience with others, Daniel Rosman seems more than ready to take up the challenge of fulfilling his goals.   The 2010 Scholarship Winners of the Naples Music Club 40th Anniversary Competition Turiel Award Winner: Daniel Rosman, clarinet, $2000   Junior Strings 1st place: Natalie Peliska, violin, $500 2nd place: Noelle Torres, violin, $400 3rd place: Lucca G. Delcompare, violin, $300 4th place: Tarik Machado Marque, cello, $150 5th place: Laura Mattson, violin, $75 Junior Woodwinds 1st place: Jeremy Brachle, clarinet, $500 2nd place: Christine Eugenides, flute, $400 3rd place Timothy Kane, alto saxophone, $300 Junior Piano (Junior Piano Awards given in memory of Margaret Haegg) 1st place: Bennett Lanni, $500 2nd place: Colleen Kilpatrick, $400 3rd place: Ilana Goldstein, $300 4th place: Andre Lorenz T. Chu, $150 5th place: Hannah Feng, $75 Haegg Continuing Education Award Nerline Nerlien, one year clarinet lessons Senior Strings 1st place: Bert G. Phillips Award by Classic Chamber Concerts, Jared Blajian, $1,000 1st place: Clifford R. Saby Award: McClaran Hayes, violin, $1,000 2nd place: Nathaniel Cornell, violin, $750 2nd place: Joseph Peliska, $750 3rd place: Hao-ting Wu, violin, $400 Senior Woodwinds 1st place: Clifford R. Saby Award, Daniel Rosman, clarinet, $1,000 2nd place: Catherine Schramm, clarinet, $750 3rd place: Cobby Brzeski, flute, $400 3rd place: Katherine Nunner, flute, $400 Senior Piano 1st place Phyllis S. Warren Piano Award: Joseph F. Lang, Jr., $1,000 2nd place: Christian M. Stahlman, $750 3rd place: Julian Gonzalez, $400 Voice 1st place: Tom and Sandi Moran Award, Elizabeth Drugan, $1,000 2nd place: Naples Opera Society Encouragement Award, Johanne Nordilus, $750 3rd place: Naples Opera Society Encouragement Award, Nadia Marshall, $400 Senior Brass 1st place: Jon Coulter, French horn, $1,000 2nd place: Phillip Brindise, French horn, $750 Senior Percussion 1st place: Christian Ostaloza, marimba, $500 2nd place: Rafael A. Rivas, marimba, $750 3rd place: Richard Stein, timpani and marimba, $400 2010 Scholarship Winners’ Program Winners’ Recital Photo Gallery by Ivan Seligman